Skip to Main Content

The University of Tennessee

George F. DeVine Music Library: University Libraries

Frequently Used Tools:




Music Education: Secondary - Middle and High School*

The Music Education Guides are designed for use by music education faculty and students. Included in these guides are lists of call number ranges and subject headings for browsing/accessing books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings on different aspects of music education, learning styles and teaching methods. Online resources such as links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs are also included.

line

BROWSING AND CATALOG SEARCHING BY CALL NUMBER RANGES

Call Numbers

  • ML3838 Musical ability testing
  • MT1 Theory of musical instruction and study
  • MT3 By region or country (.U5 = United States)
  • MT6 General music theory, rudiments
  • MT10 Teacher's manuals
  • MT85 Conducting
  • MT88 Choral conducting
  • MT730, MT810 Orchestra methods, ensemble methods
  • MT733 Band methods
  • MT875 Choral methods

Subject Headings

  • BANDS (MUSIC)
  • CHOIRS (MUSIC)
  • CHORAL CONDUCTING
  • CHORAL MUSIC
  • CHORAL SINGING
  • CONDUCTING
  • MUSIC--INSTRUCTION AND STUDY
  • MUSIC--TEXTBOOKS
  • MUSIC IN EDUCATION
  • ORCHESTRA
  • SCHOOL MUSIC--INSTRUCTION AND STUDY
  • SCHOOL MUSIC SUPERVISION
  • SCHOOL SONGBOOKS

PRINT RESOURCES (in the Reference Room)

Reference Books

Ref ML103.B35 S54 2000
     Smith, N. Program Notes for Band. 2000.
Ref ML128.B23I53 1996
     Kvet, Edward J., ed. Instructional Literature for Middle-level Band. 1996.
Ref ML128.C48G703 2002
     Green, J. A Conductor's Guide to Choral-Orchestral Works, Classical Period. 2002.
Ref ML128.I64H44 1988
     Heller, G. Historical Research in Music Education: A Bibliography. 1988.
Ref ML132.A2U62 1999 v.1-3
     University Interscholastic League (Texas). Prescribed Music List for School Years Beginning 1999, 2000,      2001, 2002 [Band, Orchestra, Vocal]. 1999.
Ref ML132.B3D8 1993
     Dvorak, T. Best Music for High School Band: A Selective Repertoire Guide for High School Bands & Wind      Ensembles. 1993.
Ref ML132.B3.D85 2000
     Dvorak, T. Best Music for Beginning Band: A Selective Repertoire Guide to Music and Methods for Beginning      Band. 2000.
Ref ML132.S74 1986
     American String Teachers Association. String Syllabus: Violin, Viola, Violoncello, Double Bass. 1986.
Ref ML3470 .C66 2004
     Cooper, B. Lee. The popular music teaching handbook : an educator's guide to music-related print resources.      2004.
Ref MT1.H138 1992
     MENC. Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning. 1992.
Ref MT1.N48 2002
     Colwell, R. The New Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning. 2002.
Ref MT3.U5M32 1996
     Mark, M. Contemporary Music Education. 1996.
Ref. MT1.S57
     Simpson, K. Some Great Music Educators. 1976.

Journals

American Music Teacher / ML1.A55
American String Teacher / ML27.U5 A8356
British Journal of Music Education BJME / ML5.B6898
Council for Research in Music Education / Bulletin ML1.C68
General Music Today (ONLINE ONLY) / MT1.G375
Journal of Research in Music Education / ML1.J6
Music Educators Journal ML1.M24
Teaching Music / ML1.T33
Tennessee Musician / ML1.T4

Directories

Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts - REF. STACKS – ML13.M83 2005.

***Provides a comprehensive list of music schools, summer music camps, music festivals, competitions, performance venues, and scholarship and financial aid information.


SELECT PRINT RESOURCES (in the Stacks)

General

MT1.B33 1991
     Colwell, R. Basic Concepts in Music Education, II. 1991.
MT1.D87 1995
     Durrant, C. Making Sense of Music: Foundations for Music Education. 1995.
MT1.H73 2001
     Hoffer, C. Teaching Music in the Secondary Schools. 2001.
MT1.K29 1994
     Kaplan, P. Cooperative Learning in Music. 1994.
MT1.M9813 1994
     Hinckley, J. Music at the Middle Level: Building Strong Programs. 1994.
MT1.M9823 1991
     Plummeridge, C. Music Education in Theory and Practice. 1991.
MT1.P319 1992
     Paynter, J. Sound and Structure [Teaching composition]. 1992.
MT1.T38 2001
     Choksy, L. Teaching Music in the Twenty-First Century. 2001.
MT1.W93 1996
     Floyd, M. World Musics in Education. 1996.
MT3.U5T413 1991
     MENC Task Force on General Music Course of Study. Teaching General Music: A Course of Study. 1991.
MT85.L57 2001
     Lisk, E. The Creative Director: Beginning and Intermediate. 2001.

History

ML1306.B382 2002
     Battisti, F. The Winds of Change: The Evolution of the Contemporary American Wind Band/Ensemble and its Conductor. 2002.
MT2.M94 2002
     Mark, M. Music Education: Source Readings From Ancient Greece to Today. 2002.
MT3.U5E7 1992
     Erbes, R. Certification Practices & Trends in Music Teacher Education. 1992.
MT3.U5 L23 1997
     Labuta, J. Music Education: Historical Contexts and Perspectives. 1997.
MT3.U5M325 1999
     Mark, M. A History of American Music Education. 1999.
MT3.U5T413 1991
     MENC Task Force on General Music Course of Study. Teaching General Music: A Course of Study. 1991.

Instrumental Music

MT85.E63 2001
     Erdmann, T. Problems and Solutions in Band Conducting. 2001.
MT125.T43 v.1-4
     Miles, R. ed. Teaching Music through Performance in Band. 1997-2002.
MT125.T433 Grade 1
     Miles, R. ed. Teaching Music through Performance in Beginning Band. 2001.
MT170 .C4 1993
     Casey, J. Teaching Techniques and Insights for Instrumental Music Educators. 1993.
MT170.C64 2002
     Colwell, R. The Teaching of Instrumental Music. 2002.
MT170.P58 1990
     Pizer, R. Evaluation Programs for School Bands and Orchestras. 1990.
MT170.S34 1997
     Schleuter, S. A Sound Approach to Teaching Instrumentalists. 1997.
MT172.T4 1991
     MENC Task Force on String Education Course of Study. Teaching Wind and Percussion Instruments: A      Course of Study. 1991.
MT259.K58 1996
     Klotman, R. Teaching Strings: Learning to Teach through Playing. 1996.
MT259.T27 1991
     MENC Task Force on String Education Course of Study. Teaching Stringed Instruments: A Course of Study.      1991.
MT730.C72 1988
     MENC. The Complete String Guide: Standards, Programs, Purchase, and Maintenance. 1988.
MT733.N28 2001
     Navarre, R. Instrumental Music Teacher's Survival Kit: Ready-to-Use Guidelines, Lessons & Exercises for      Teaching Beginning Band Instruments. 2001.
MT733.7.F58 1994
     Fleming, L. Getting Started with Jazz Band. 1994.
MT733.L58 1994
     Lisk, E. The Creative Director: Alternative Rehearsal Techniques. 1994.
MT918.A58 2002
     Alsobrook, J. Pathways: A Guide for Energizing & Enriching Band, Orchestra & Choral Programs. 2002.

Philosophy

ML3838.S385 2002
     Parncutt, R. The Science & Psychology of Music Performance: Creative Strategies for Teaching and Learning.      2002.
MT1.E435 1995
     Elliott, D. Music Matters: A New Philosophy of Music Education. 1995.
MT1.R435 2003
     Reimer, B. A Philosophy of Music Education: Advancing the Vision. 2003.
MT1.W57 1993
     Whitwell, D. Music As a Language: A New Philosophy of Music Education. 1993.
MT1.A25 1995
     Abeles, H. Foundations of Music Education. 1995.

Psychology and Testing

ML3838.D73 1985
     Dowling, W. Music Cognition. 1985.
MT1.G648P8
     Gordon, E. The Psychology of Music Teaching. 1971.
MT1.S944 1994
     Swanwick, K. Musical Knowledge: Intuition, Analysis, and Music Education. 1994.
MT3.U5 S63 2001
     MENC. Spotlight on Assessment in Music Education. 2001.

Standards

MT1.M43 1994
     MENC Task Force for National Standards in the Arts. The School Music Program: A New Vision: The K-12      National Standards, PreK Standards, and What They Mean to Music Educators. 1994.
MT1.N48 2002
     Colwell, Richard, ed. The New Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning: A Project of the Music      Educators National Conference. 2002.
MT3.U5H75 1999
     Madsen, C. ed. Vision 2020: The Housewright Symposium on the Future of Music Education. 1999.
MT3.U5M935 1994
     MENC. Teaching Examples: Ideas for Music Educators (Based on the National Music Standards; instructional      strategies for each standard; PreK through Grade 12). 1994.
MT3.U5N48 2001
     Niebur, L. Incorporating Assessment and the National Standards for Music Education into Everyday Teaching.      2001.
MT3.U5P47 2000
     Reimer, Bennett. Performing with Understanding: The Challenge of the National Standards for Music      Education. 2000.
MT733.K86 1998
     Kvet, E. Strategies for Teaching High School Band: Your Key to Implementing the National Standards for      Music Education. 1998.

Supervision and Administration

MT3.U5C78 1991
     Cowden, R. Administration and Supervision of Music. 1991.
MT85.C75 1993
     The Instrumentalist. Conductors Anthology: a Compendium of Articles from the Instrumentalist from 1946      to 1992 on the Administrative Side of Being a School Music Director. 1993.
MT85.H37 2001
     Harris, F. Conducting with Feeling. 2001.
ML10.M87 1989
     Music Teachers' National Association. The MTNA Book of Policies, Letters and Forms. 1989.

Vocal Music Programs

MT3.U5J56
     Jipson, W. The High School Vocal Music Program. 1972.
MT85 .D76 2003
     Durrant, Colin. Choral Conducting: Philosophy and Practice. 2003.
MT85.G175C6 1998
     Garretson, R. Conducting Choral Music. 1998.
MT85.M68 2004
     Moses, Don V. Face to face with orchestra and chorus : a handbook for choral conductors. 2004.
MT85.N48 2002
     Neuen, D. Choral concepts. 2002.
MT85.W58 2000
     Willetts, S. Beyond the Downbeat: Choral Rehearsal Skills and Techniques. 2000.
MT875.D46 2001
     Demorest, S. Building Choral Excellence: Teaching Sight-Singing in the Choral Rehearsal. 2001.
MT875.H95 1995
     Hylton, J. Comprehensive Choral Music Education. 1995.
MT915.G39 1994
     Robinson, R. Getting Started with Jazz/Show Choir. 1994.
MT930.C58 1999
     Collins, D. Teaching Choral Music. 1999.
MT930.M59 1988
     Miller, K. Vocal Music Education. 1988.
MT930.R65 1983
     Roe, P. Choral Music Education. 1983.


AUDIO-VISUAL RESOURCES

Book/CD MT259.L54 2004 & CD MT259.L54 2004
     Lieberman J. Alternative Strings: The New Curriculum. 2004.
Book/CD MT875.H86 2001 & CD7911
     Hunt, P. Voiceworks: A Handbook for Singing. 2001.

Video MT3.U5T4 1991 V.1-4
     MENC. Teaching Music with a Multicultural Approach. 1991.
Video MT85.W37A8 1994
     Warland, D. Attention to Detail: A Choral Conductor's Guide. 1994.
DVD MT90 .L44 2004
     Bernstein, Leonard. Leonard Bernstein's Young People's Concerts: With the New York Philharmonic. 2004.
Video MT820.T85 1993
     Blythe, L. Choral Triad Video Workshop. 1993.


ONLINE RESOURCES

K-12 Resources for Music Educators <http://www.isd77.k12.mn.us/music/k-12music/>
Music Education Online <http://www.childrensmusicworkshop.com/>
Music Education Organizations <http://www.cmeabaysection.org/edorgs.html>
Music Education Resource Base (MERB) <http://www.merb.org>
     MERB/CMI is a bibliographic database of more than 28,000 resources in music and music education from
     31 Canadian and International journals and other sources covering the period 1956 through the      present.
Music Teachers' National Association (MTNA) <http://www.mtna.org>
Resources for Wind Band Conductors <http://lrs.ed.uiuc.edu/students/heidel/Major_project.html>
Tennessee Music Educators Association <http://tnmea.org/>

Also see:

PERIODICAL INDEXES

Related databases available on the UT Libraries Database Page:
Education Full Text
ERIC
Music and Performing Arts Online (IIMP & IIPA)
RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature
PsycLINFO (Journal articles)
Social Sciences Citation Index
Dissertation Abstracts
Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Music databases available on the Music Library Database Page:
Music and Performing Arts Online (IIMP & IIPA)
Music Index Online
RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature

*Call numbers apply to UT held items only


University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Pauline Bayne and Connie Steigenga, Revised July 2007