Skip to Main Content

The University of Tennessee

George F. DeVine Music Library: University Libraries

Frequently Used Tools:




Rock Music *

The Music Genre Guides are designed for use by music faculty and students. Included in these guides are lists of call number ranges and subject headings for browsing/accessing books, journals, scores, and audio/visual recordings on different aspects of each genre. Online resources such as links to notable professional organizations and commonly used web sites and blogs are also included.

line

BROWSING AND CATALOG SEARCHING BY CALL NUMBER RANGES

Call Numbers

  • M1630.18 Popular music collections: printed music
  • ML3534; ML3545; ML3561 General histories
  • ML420 Biographies, artist
  • ML421 Biographies, groups

Subject Headings

  • CHRISTIAN ROCK MUSIC
  • DOO-WOP (MUSIC)
  • FOLK-ROCK MUSIC
  • GRUNGE MUSIC
  • HEAVY METAL (MUSIC)
  • NEW WAVE MUSIC
  • PSYCHEDELIC ROCK MUSIC
  • PUNK ROCK MUSIC
  • RAP (MUSIC)
  • REGGAE MUSIC
  • ROCK MUSIC
  • ROCK MUSIC, 1951-1960; ROCK MUSIC, 1961-1970, etc. by decade
  • ROCK GROUPS
  • ROCK MUSICIANS
  • ROCKABILLY MUSIC

PRINT RESOURCES (in the Reference Room)

Reference Books

Bibliographies

Ref ML128.P63 G66 1990
     Goodfellow, W. Where's That Tune?: An Index To Songs in Fakebooks. 1990.
Ref ML128.P63 J37 2002
     Jasen, D. A Century of American Popular Music: 2000 Best-loved and Remembered Songs (1899-1999).      2002.
Ref ML128.P63 T39 1985
     Taylor, P. Popular Music since 1955: A Critical Guide to the Literature. 1985.
Ref ML128.R28 M3 1992
     McCoy, J. Rap Music in the 1980s: A Reference Guide. 1992.
Ref ML128.R6 G37 1995
     Gatten, J. Rock Music Scholarship: An Interdisciplinary Bibliography. 1995.
Ref ML3470 .C66 2004
     Cooper, B. Lee. The Popular Music Teaching Handbook: An Educator’s Guide to Music-Related Print Resources     2004.

Dictionaries

Ref ML102.P66 G84 2006 v.1-10
     Encyclopedia of Popular Music. 2006.
Ref ML102.P66 S8 1989
     Stambler, I. Encyclopedia of Pop, Rock, and Soul. 1989.
Ref ML102.P66 T38 2004
     Taylor, Steve. The A to X of Alternative Music. 2004.
Ref ML102.R27 B96 2006
     Bynoe, Yvonne. Encyclopedia of Rap and Hip-Hop Culture. 2006.
Ref ML102.R6 B55 1998
     The Billboard Illustrated Encyclopedia of Rock. 1998.
Ref ML102.R6 C64 2006
     Cogan, Brian. Encyclopedia of Punk Music and Culture. 2006.
Ref ML102.R6 I54 2002
     Ingham, Chris. The Book of Metal: The Most Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Metal Music Ever Created. 2002.
Ref ML102.R6 S85 1994
     Sumrall, Harry. Pioneers of Rock and Roll: 100 Artists Who Changed the Face of Rock. 1994.
Ref ML105.D6 1994
     DiMartino, D. Singer-Songwriters: Pop Music's Performer-Composers from A to Zevon. 1994.
Ref ML102.R6 T3 1998
     Talevski, N. The Unofficial Encyclopedia of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. 1998.
Ref ML102.S67 E5 2005
     Hoffmann, Frank, ed. Encyclopedia of Recorded Sound. 2005.
Ref ML106.G7 W42
     International Who’s Who in Popular Music. 2007.

Discographies

Ref ML156.4.P6 H59 1983
     Hoffmann, F. The Cash Box Singles Charts, 1950-1981. 1983.
Ref ML156.4.R6 H45 1998
     Helander, B. The Rockin' '50s: The People Who Made the Music. 1998.
Ref ML156.4.R6 H46 1999
     Helander, B. The Rockin' '60s: The People Who Made the Music. 1999.
Ref ML156.4.R6 H68 1987
     Hounsome, T. Rock Record. 1987.
Ref ML156.4.R6 S8 2004
     Strong, M. The Great Rock Discography. 2004.
Ref ML156.4.P6 R6
     Rohde, K. Gold of Rock & Roll, 1955-67. 1970.
Ref ML156.4.P6 J645
     Whitburn, J. Billboard's Music Yearbook . 1985-1996.
Ref ML156.4.P6 W53
     Top Rhythm and Blues Records, 1949-1971. 1973.

Histories and Chronologies

Ref ML3534.G754 2006 v.1-6
     The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Rock History. 2006.
Ref ML3534.R64 1992
     Miller, J. Rolling Stone Illustrated History of Rock & Roll. 1992.

Bbliographies

Ref ML128.P63 G66 1990
     Goodfellow, W. Where's That Tune?: An Index To Songs in Fakebooks. 1990.

Journals

Electronic Musician   ML1380.E4
Guitar Player   ML1.G85
Keyboard   ML1.C9153
Mix   HD9697.P563U55
Popular Music   ML3469.P66
Popular Music and Society   ML1.P69457
Recording   ML73.M885
Spin   ML3533.8.S64
Source   ML3531.S68
Words & Music (SOCAN)   ML5.C153

Directories

Musical America: International Directory of the Performing Arts - REF. STACKS – ML13.M83 2005.

***Provides a comprehensive list of music schools, summer music camps, music festivals, competitions, performance venues, and scholarship and financial aid information.


SELECT PRINT RESOURCES (in the Stacks)

Collections of Printed Music

M1630.18.B4416
     The Best of 80's Rock. 1989.
M1630.18.B4515
     The Best of Rock 'n' Roll from the '50s & '60s: A Complete Anthology. 1985.
M1630.18.D94 B3 1976
     The Songs of Bob Dylan. 1976.
M1630.18.E528 1988
     Encyclopedia of Rock Music: 70's & 80's. 1988.
M1630.18.H43 B4 1998
     Hendrix, J. The best of Jimi Hendrix. 1998.
M1630.18.M1518 B35 v.2
     McCartney, P. Beatlemania. 1980.
M1630.18.O43 N5
     The New York Times Great Songs of the Sixties. 1970.
M1630.18.S549 P33
     Paul Simon's Greatest Hits. 1978.
M1630.18 .R648 R6 2003
     The Rolling Stones Guitar Anthology. 2003.
M1630.18 .S6443 1996
     Songs of the ’90s: Piano, Vocal, Guitar. 1996.
M1630.18.T6783 (60s); M1630.18.T6782 (70s); M1630.18.T678 (80s)
     Top Rock 'n' Roll Hits of the 60's; the 70's; the 80's. 1992.

**Look for specific songs by title in the UT Song Index [have link to Song Index]

History and Criticism

ML394.R43 1991
     Rees, D. Rock Movers & Shakers. 1991.
ML424.S85 E83 1991
     Escott, Colin. Good Rockin' Tonight: Sun Records and the Birth of Rock 'n' Roll. 1991.
ML3470.D52 2000
     Dickerson, J. Goin' Back to Memphis: A Century of Blues, Rock 'n' Roll, and Glorious Soul. 2000.
ML3187.5.H68 1999
     Howard, J. Apostles of Rock: The Splintered World of Contemporary Christian Music. 1999.
ML3470 .C36 2001
     Frith, S. The Cambridge Companion to Pop and Rock. 2001.
ML3470.F7465 2007
     Frith, Simon. Taking Popular Music Seriously: Selected Essays. 2007.
ML3492.B39 1998
     Bayton, M. Frock Rock: Women Performing Popular Music. 1998.
ML3506.N52 1998
     Nicholson, S. Jazz Rock: A History. 1998.
ML3527.P78 1996
     Pruter, R. Doowop: The Chicago Scene. 1996.
ML3534.B688 1992
     Bradley, D. Understanding Rock 'n' Roll: Popular Music in Britain 1955-1964. 1992.
ML3534.C638 2001
     Colegrave, S. Punk. 2001.
ML3534.C63 1991
     Cohen, S. Rock Culture in Liverpool: Popular Music in the Making. 1991.
ML3534.E985 2008
     Everett, W. Expression in Pop-rock Music: Critical and Analytical Essays. 2008.
ML3534.F67513 1995
     Fornas, J. In Garageland: Rock, Youth, and Modernity. 1995.
ML3534.G69 2001
     Gracyk, T. I Wanna Be Me: Rock Music and the Politics of Identity. 2001.
ML3534.H43 2007
     Hegarty, Paul. Noise/Music: A History. 2007.
ML3534.H53 1999
     Hicks, B. Sixties Rock: Garage, Psychedelic, and Other Satisfactions. 1999.
ML3534.L594 1999
     Blake, A. Living through Pop. 1999.
ML3534.L88 2003
     Lydon, M. Flashbacks: Eyewitness Accounts of the Rock Revolution, 1964-1974. 2003.
ML3534.M362 1993
     Marcus, G. Ranters & Crowd Pleasers: Punk in Pop Music, 1977-92. 1993.
ML3534 .M412 1998
     Martin, B. Listening to the Future: The Time of Progressive Rock, 1968-1978. 1998.
ML3534.M66 2001
     Moore, A. Rock, the Primary Text: Developing a Musicology of Rock. 2001.
ML3534.P76 2002
     Holm-Hudson, K. Progressive Rock Reconsidered. 2002.
ML3534.P91 2003
     Purcell, Natalie. Death Metal Music: The Passion and Politics of a Subculture. 2003.
ML3534.R3844 1999
     Dettmar, K. Reading Rock and Roll: Authenticity, Appropriation, Aesthetics. 1999.
ML3534.R6336 2002
     Beebe, R. Rock Over the Edge: Transformations in Popular Music Culture. 2002.
ML3534.R6384 1994
     Ramet, S. Rocking the State: Rock Music and Politics in Eastern Europe and Russia. 1994.
ML3534.S96 1996
     Szatmary, D. A Time to Rock: A Social History of Rock and Roll. 1996.
ML3534.W29 1993
     Walser, R. Running with the Devil: Power, Gender, and Madness in Heavy Metal Music. 1993.
ML3534.W35 2007
     Warwick, Jacqueline. Girl Groups, Girl Culture: Popular Music and Identity in the 1960s. 2007.
ML3534.W555 1992
     Whiteley, S. The Space between the Notes: Rock and the Counter-Culture. 1992.


AUDIO-VISUAL RESOURCES

CD M1630.18.B663  
     Ghetto Music: The Blueprint of Hip Hop.  1989
CD M1630.18.D593 1993 & M1630.18.D594 1996
     The Doo Wop Box & The Doo Wop Box II. 1993-1996.
CD M1630.18.H56 1992
     Hitsville USA: The Motown Singles Collection, 1959-1971. 1992.
CD M1630.18.I75, v.1-5 1993
     In Yo' Face! The History of Funk. 1993.
M1630.18 .R17 1994 no.1-6
     The R&B Box: 30 Years of Rhythm & Blues. 1994.
CD M1630.18.R6262 1996
     Rockin' 50's & 60's. 1996.
CD M1630.18.S8793 1994
     The Sun Records Collection. 1994.
CD M1739.18.B74 v.1-4 1988 & M1739.18.B74 v.5-9 1991
     The British Invasion: The History of British Rock. 1988-1991.
CD12883 v.1-2
     Have a Nice Decade: The ’70s Pop Culture Box. 1998.
CD12884 v.1-2
     Like, Omigod!: The 80$ Pop Culture Box (Totally). 2002.
CD15063 v.1-4
     Left of the Dial: Dispatches from the 80’s Underground. 2004.
CD15083 v.1-4
     The Heavy Metal Box. 2007.
CD15084 v.1-3 & DVD M1630.18 .L437 2006
     A Life Less Lived: The Gothic Box. 2006.
CD15201
     No Thanks!: The ’70s Punk Rebellion. 2003.

DVD M1630.18.B655 2002 & M1630.18.B655 2003
     Bonnaroo Music Festival. 2002-2003.
DVD M1630.18.L435 J47 1998
     Jerry Lee Lewis: The Story of Rock and Roll.  1998
DVD M1630.18.W615 1997
     Woodstock: 3 Days of Peace & Music. 1997.
DVD M1670 .W37 2004
     Wattstax. 2004.
DVD ML38.M778 M64 1998
     Monterey Jazz Festival: Forty Legendary Years. 1998.
DVD ML3531.H574 2004
     Hip Hop Immortals: We Got Your Kids. 2004.
DVD ML3534 .H58 2004
     The History of Rock 'n' Roll. 2004.
VHS ML3534.R6315 1995 v.1-5
     Rock & Roll. 1995.
DVD ML3534.6.G7 L58 2004
     Live Forever: The Rise and Fall of Brit Pop. 2004.


ONLINE RESOURCES

BBC Seven Ages of Rock http://www.bbc.co.uk/music/sevenages
ChristianRock.Net http://www.christianrock.net/
History of Rock Music http://www.history-of-rock-music.com/
Piero Scaruffi's Music Review http://www.scaruffi.com/music.html
All Music Guide http://www.allmusic.com/
Rock Hall http://www.rockhall.com
Yahoo Directory: Rock and Pop (hyperlink on current webpage doesn’t work)
http://dir.yahoo.com/Entertainment/Music/Artists/By_Genre/Rock_and_Pop/

Also see:

DATABASES & INDEXES
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Grove Music
Music and Performing Arts Online (IIMP & IIPA)
Music Index Online

RILM Abstracts of Musical Literature

*Call numbers apply to UT held items only


University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Pauline Bayne and Connie Steigenga, Revised April 2008